The Masters of Dota 2 Competes at the Manila Masters

The Manila Masters is the Philippines’ latest international Defense of the Ancients 2 (Dota 2) tournament and is a collaboration between local organizing body MET and the multinational ESL. It will gather the best eight teams from all over the world here in Manila, where they are set to compete with each other for the pride, glory, and the lion’s share of the $250,000 prize pool from May 26-28, 2017, in the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

Among the confirmed participants are The International 2016 champions Evil Geniuses, three-time Major winner Team OG, and Shanghai, China’s Newbee, originally dubbed as the Dream Team 2.

Every team in the Philippines will get a chance to win a slot in the Manila Masters to play against top international teams. This will be conducted through a month-long tour with online qualifiers, and qualifiers in 20 cities, The Manila Masters Philippine Qualifiers: The Pinoy Tour which culminates in the main playoffs against Mineski-Dota, TNC Pro Team, Execration, and HappyFeet themselves. The road to the Masters is long but the prize is huge and even those who don’t make it to the end will be rewarded for their effort.

Teams may register for one of four Online Qualifiers to be held on March 18, 19, 25, & 26. Teams who don’t make it through the first qualifier can register again to other qualifiers or the Branch Qualifiers.

The top team from each Qualifier advances to the Pre-Playoffs.

Every team has a chance of making it to the top, as Mineski-Dota, TNC Pro Team, Execration, and HappyFeet will not be competing in either the Online Qualifiers or the Branch Qualifiers, and repeat registrations are allowed. Play your hearts out and chase your Dota 2 dreams!

20 cities from around the Philippines will also be hosting Branch Qualifiers at selected Mineski Infinity branches and other partner cybercafes. This will be a 1-day event, with a Single Elimination format. Registration is FREE and players and teams can sign up for multiple tournaments.

Metro Manila – Dapitan, Marikina, Las Pinas, Cubao, Taft, Caloocan
Luzon – Pampanga, Batangas, Baguio, Laoag, Cavite, Tuguegarao, Laguna, Pangasinan, Olongapo, Naga
Visayas-Mindanao – Cebu, Palawan, Davao, CDO

These are the dates of The Pinoy Tour to allow you to plan ahead:

April 1 – Dapitan, CDO, Pampanga
April 2 – Baguio, Cavite, Batangas
April 8 – Marikina, Tuguegarao, Laguna
April 9 – Las Pinas, Davao, Pangasinan
April 16 (Easter) – Palawan, Cubao
April 22 – Taft, Naga, Laoag
April 23 – Cebu, Olongapo, Caloocan

The winner from each branch will advance to a Group Stage (4 groups of 5). The top 2 teams from each group advances to the Pre Playoffs.

For more details, please check the Mineski website. For more information on the Manila Masters:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s